• Profile picture of KerstinPeters

KerstinPeters

1 year, 9 months ago

Here is step 2 of the message, the story outline:

Immigrating to Canada, I had the language skills after a two-year certification as a foreign language correspondent. While I could perform oral business translations, I did not dare to talk to people. During the full-time programme, the goal was perfection. However, we never practiced improvised conversations interactively. I was afraid everyone would think I was stupid because I could not express myself to others with the subtleties of my mother tongue. In the end, I started practicing with our puppy, who was non-judgmental and willing to listen.

After my children were in school, I started teaching German in one of the local Community Centres. Then, I taught government employees for a private company. I loved teaching. However, I was frustrated about my inability to decide on the course location, number of students, and the teaching materials for the business clients. I spent more time on the road in traffic than teaching. I often had to leave the house in the early morning hours to make it through the traffic in time to the classroom.

I started working with private clients, which was a lot of fun because I could individualize the learning material according to their needs and interests. I was more flexible and could pick when and where I worked. Unfortunately, I only had a small number of clients and spent a lot of time looking for new clients locally. Plus, situations changed due to travel, illness or family events, and I lost a client without much notice for a prolonged time. I still had to travel to the classes, hauling all my materials.

I finally realized that I could reach more people virtually. I have all my materials at hand. Plus, I save so much time. No more traffic jams and frantic searches for parking spots! No more worries about the weather! These advantages also benefit the clients who can learn from everywhere in the world.