• Profile picture of RuthRoland

RuthRoland

10 months, 3 weeks ago

As a violin teacher and chamber music coach, I had been working at five locations for two or three years and it was starting to take a toll. Between the long drives, the disparate calendars, and the large number of students, I didn’t feel able to give my students the attention they deserve. I was frequently tired and haggard, unable to remember what a particular student had been working on with me, forgetting to follow through on the commitments I made even to send a quick text or order a piece of equipment.

The mother of one of my students asked me whether I liked working this hard. This same mother a few years earlier had remarked on my joy and expertise. Now I could feel her taking in my pale face and the dark circles under my eyes. I realized this was the third week in a row I had forgotten to bring a new shoulder rest for her daughter to try.

I explained that my husband hadn’t gotten a raise in 9 years. Our son was in college and our daughter was in dance and piano. We required the consistency of my teaching income during the day. I loved rehearsing and performing (another several regular jobs plus pickup gigs) and that money was useful for discretionary expenses. All my colleagues are tired. It wasn’t really a choice.

I was unwilling to return the life of our first years in Louisiana, when we had so little money I tried to harvest bamboo to eat from our backyard. But the seed had been planted. Maybe there was another way!

When COVID hit, many of my violin students could no longer afford lessons, so I took on a few piano students. As the economy adjusted to the pandemic, my violin students returned. Meanwhile, more and more new students came to me—for both piano and violin.